(ACTIVISTS ENTER):

I can hear my neighbor crying I can’t breathe

Now I’m in the struggle singing, “I can’t leave”

Calling out the violence of the racist police

We ain’t gonna stop ’til people are free

We ain’t gonna stop ’til people are free

(Dancers enter)

New chant begins from audience: “Women’s Rights are Human Rights” (Continuously Repeating over Activists)

Ta-Tanisha: I cannot accept to be a woman, black, brown, Muslim, Hindu, young or old,  means to be subject to a separate code of justice.

Ta-Tanisha & Activist One: One based on brutality, based on my identity

Activists 3 & 4: I was born a gender

Ta-Tanisha & Activist 2: A temple was granted to me.

Jonathan Carter: “Rekia Boyd”

ALL WOMEN (Stomping): Bang

POS2015_382 copy

Jonathan: Fatally shot

Activist 1: Law is the path to a culture of liberty and must be an equal way to progress for everyone

Activist 2: I was born a gender

Activists 2, 3, & 4: A temple was granted to me

JONATHAN: “Jessica Hernandez”

ALL WOMEN: Bang.

JONATHAN: “Tanisha Anderson”

Activist 2: I was sleeping in my bed.

ACTIVISTS 1, 3, & 4: Bang

Jonathan: “Aiyana Jones”

ALL ACTIVISTS: Bang

Activist 3: Women should be governed by the force of law

Activists  1, 2 & 4: Bang

Activist 4: Not by the law of force

Activists 1, 2, & 3: Bang

Jonathan: “Kathryn Johnston”

ALL WOMEN: Bang

Jonathan: “Tyisha Miller”

ALL WOMEN: Bang

Jonathan: “Gabriella Nevarez”

ALL WOMEN: Bang.

Jonathan: “Yvette Smith”

ALL WOMEN: Bang

Activist 2: I was on my way home from school

Activists 1, 3, & 4: Bang

Jonathan: You better run, brave Harriet

POS2015_397 copy

ALL ACTIVISTS: Bang

Activist 1: Before I could tell myself to take a breath

Activists 2, 3, & 4: Bang

Jonthan: Get up bleeding Harriet

ALL ACTIVISTS: Bang

Activist 3: We must break the silence

Activists 1, 2, & 3: Bang

Jonathan: Dark is the face of Angela

Activist 3: Say it with me

Activists 1, 2, & 4: Bang

Jonathan: Dark is the face of Assata

Ta-Tanisha: Women’s Rights

ALL WOMEN: Bang

Jonathan: Dark is the face of Hanging Cloud Ojibwa

Ta-Tanisha: Are Human Rights

ALL ACTIVISTS: Bang

Jonathan: Dark is the face of Nydia Velazquez

ALL WOMEN: I was born a gender

Jonathan: Bang

ALL WOMEN: A temple was granted to me

Jonathan: Bang

ALL WOMEN: Sandra Bland

Center stage actress chanting “human rights are women’s rights” left with hands up.

Leave a Reply

